2017 Annual Conference

Survive and Thrive
Monday, May 8, 2017
Suncor Energy Fluvarium
5 Nagle’s Place, St. John’s

Follow us on facebook or twitter

Conference Fee:
NLLA members $50.00
Non-members $75.00
Not an NLLA member or need to renew your membership? Join or renew online.

The present economic climate in Newfoundland and Labrador has had a powerful impact on our province’s libraries, bringing threats of budget cuts, workforce reductions, and even library closures.  However, despite such uncertainty, libraries are thriving because of the commitment and devotion of library workers in our province and in our individual communities.  We build relationships and approach our communities with a desire to help and contribute, rather than to generate profit.  The altruistic nature of libraries is ultimately what will help our libraries and the communities we serve not only to survive, but also to thrive.

21st Century library workers are poised to support the people of our province to survive economic hardships.  We are collaborators, partnering with others in our community to provide support and foster growth, innovation, and learning.  We are educators, promoting information literacy, critical thinking, and self-directed learning.   And we are keepers of the cultural record, preserving the histories of our communities, and providing access to information and technology.  Despite our economic challenges, we work tirelessly to help empower Newfoundlanders and Labradorians through learning and information access.  We celebrate the value of libraries in our communities, and seek out new ways to survive and thrive.

Keynote speaker Trudy Morgan-Coles

Keynote speaker Trudy Morgan-Cole

Sunday, May 7, 6:30-8:30 pm
Marjorie Mews Library
12 Highland Drive, St John’s
(Located in the Highland Drive Plaza off Torbay Road, next to Ches’ Fish and Chips)
Want to learn more about what’s happening at the Marjorie Mews library? Well then, join us for a pre-conference social with refreshments and snacks and hear all about it from Julia Mayo and Kristina Walters.

marjorie mews public libraryMarjorie Mews: The Little Library That Can!
Libraries both big and small are integral parts of their communities. At Marjorie Mews Public Library we feel that we fill that role well because of the staff and the attitude we have. We believe that by having ownership of our “product” and having a positive attitude about our work, there is nothing we cannot achieve. It is our philosophy; if you are not having fun (at work) you are doing it wrong. We work hard to create positive partnerships within the community with businesses, schools and other community groups. Over the years we have steadily continued to push the limits of our space, our budget and our imaginations to bring in programs that appeal to our patrons and their families.

Julia Mayo, Marjorie Mews Public Library Branch Supervisor
Kristina Walters, Marjorie Mews Public Library, Library Assistant
Kristina and Julia have been working with the Newfoundland and Labrador Public libraries for about nine years. They find great satisfaction in doing all kinds of library work, from answering reference questions, coordinating adult programs and basic computer classes to early literacy outreach and children’s story time.

(Download PDF of Full Program & Bios)

Location: The Fluvarium

Location: The Fluvarium

8:00-8:50 Registration

8:50-9:00 Opening remarks, Krista Godfrey, NLLA President

9:00-9:5o Keynote: Trudy Morgan Cole


9:50-10:30 Transformational Moments: Two Educators’ Experiences of the ACRL Framework
Janet Goosney, Chair in Teaching & Learning (Library), Memorial University
Meghan Gamsby, Head, Information Services, QEII Library, Memorial University

10:30-10:50 Break

10:50-11:30 Memorial Mobile Makerspace
Shawn Pendergast, Manager of IT Student Services, ITS, Memorial University

11:30-12:10 Lightning Round I
Accuracy of Online Discussion Forums on Common Childhood Ailments
Alison Farrell, Public Services Librarian, Health Sciences Library, Memorial University

AMICUS to OCLC: How will MUN Libraries Survive and Thrive?
Heather J. Pretty, Cataloguing Librarian, Memorial University Libraries

Into the Spotlight
Susan Prior, Division Manager (Acting), St. John’s Public Libraries
Bonnie Morgan, Children’s Librarian (Acting), Newfoundland & Labrador Public Libraries

Alison Farrell, Public Services Librarian, Health Sciences Library, Memorial University
Lindsay Alcock, Head of Public Services, Health Sciences Library, Memorial University

12:10-1:00 Lunch

1:00-2:00 NLLA General Meeting

2:00-2:40 The Light at the End of the Big Deal
Amanda Tiller-Hackett, Humanities Collection Development Librarian, QEII Library, Memorial University
Alison Ambi, Acting Head of Collection Development, QEII Library, Memorial University
Patrick Gamsby, Scholarly Communications Librarian, QEII Library, Memorial University
Ryan Lewis, Social Sciences Research Liaison Librarian, QEII Library, Memorial University
Pam Morgan, Information Resources Librarian, Health Sciences Library, Memorial University

2:40-3:20 Reflections on Four Decades as a Systems Librarian on the Eve of Retirement
Slavko Manojlovich, Associate University Librarian (Special Projects), Memorial Libraries

3:20-3:40 Break

3:40-4:20 Sensory Story time
Natasha Wells, Regional Librarian, Western Division, Newfoundland & Labrador Public Libraries

4:20-5:00 Lightning Round II
ESL Cafe at Gander Public Library
Courtney Crocker, Regional Librarian, Central Division, Newfoundland & Labrador Public Libraries

A Student’s Perspective on Social Media and the Library
Sarah Milmine, Student Assistant, Queen Elizabeth II Library, Memorial University

Where IS that Green Sheep? A Felt Story
Jewel Cousens, Newfoundland and Labrador Collections Librarian, Newfoundland & Labrador Public Libraries


Location: Merlot's Inferno

Location: Merlot’s Inferno

5:30 pm
Merlo’s Inferno, 193 Kenmount Road
(not included in conference fee)



For more information on becoming a sponsor, please see our sponsorship letter.

For more information about the 2017 Annual Conference, please contact planning committee chair, Kate Shore.

2017 Sponsors